A.P temples

December 12, 2008 RENU

  • Ahobilam: Near Nandyala, kurnool & 40miles from Cuddapah. Narasimha(Vishnu) shrine.
  • Alampur: 200km from Hyderabad & is near kurnool. Jogulamba at edge of tungabadra river. Called dakshina kasi/kailasam as is Sree Kalahasti in southern Andhra. Navabhramma temples dating back to 17th century, built Chalukyas here are dedicated to Lord Shiva. All these temples are enclosed in a courtyard on the left bank of the river Tungabhadra. Alampur is western gateway of Sree Sailam. Tungabadra & krishna are in confluence near Alampur.
  • Amaravati: Is home to Amareswara temple which constitutes one of the five Pancharama temples of Andhra Pradesh sacred to Shiva. It is located 15miles away from Guntur near Vijayawada. As the name Amaravati implies, legend has it that Amaravati was once the abode of the Gods – the Devas, the yakshas and the kinnaras, who performed penances to Shiva to request him to rid the earth of the mighty demon Tarakasura. Legend has it that Shiva’s son Subramanya vanquished the demon.
  • Annavaram: Satyanarayana Swami temple near Kakinada on Ratnagiri hills.
  • Basara: Saraswati temple near Nizamabad.
  • Bhadrachalam: 200km from Vijayawada & near Khammam. This temple is intimately connected with the life of the saint composer Bhadrachala Ramadasa who was known as Gopanna. Gopanna the Tasildar of Bhadrachalam (second half of the 17th century) is said to have utilized money from the government treasury to build this temple, and was imprisoned in a dungeon at Golconda. Rama is said to have miraculously given the Sultan the money spent by Gopanna, after which he was released. Gopanna then became Bhadrachala Ramadasa, and went on to compose several songs in Telugu in praise of Rama. Rama, Sita and Lakshmana are said to have stayed at Parnasala, 35 km away from Bhadrachalam. Rama is said to have crossed the river Godavari on his way to Sri Lanka to rescue Sita, at the spot where the Bhadrachalam temple stands, on the northern bank of the river.
  • Birla Mandir: At Hyderabad on top of a hill dominating the skyline built of white marble. The Birlas (industrialists who have also built several temples in India in this century) built this temple. The presiding deity here is Venkateswara (Vishnu).
  • Dharmapuri: Near Karimnagar enshrines Ramalingeswara temple & Yoga Narasimha.
  • Draksharama: In E.G.Dst near Kakinada. It was built by a Chalukya King. Draksharama, Sree Sailam & Kalahasti together constitute the 3 sacred Shivalingams of AP, giving it its ancient name Trilinga Desa.
  • Hanumakonda: 1000pillar temple at Warangal.
  • Kotilingam temple: Near Anakapalle.
  • Kotipalli(Kumararama): It is an imp pilgrimage center near Rajahmundry.
  • Mahanandi temple: At Thimmapuram near Kurnool.
  • Mangalagiri: Narasimhaswami near Vijayawada.
  • Palampet: Near Warangal is home to brilliant Kakatiya art as seen in Ramappa temple.
  • Simhachalam: This hill of the lion temple can be seen as one approaches VSP from Vijayanagaram by train. It is 18km from VSP. Varaha Lakshminarasimha, combining the iconographic features of Varaha & Narasimha is the deity here. The image resembles a Shivalingam covered with sandal paste. Legend has it that the Ugra form of Narasimha as he killed the demon Hiranyakashipu was so fierce that the image is kept covered by sandal paste throughout the year. It is only once a year, during the Chandana Visarjana that the sandal paste is removed, and the image is seen by pilgrims.
  • Sri Kalahasti: Near Tirupati, dedicated to Shiva.
  • Sri Sailam: It constitutes one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva. The presiding deities here are Mallikarjuna (Shiva) and Bhramaramba (Devi). Legend has it that Durga is said to have assumed the shape of a bee and worshipped Shiva here, and chose this place as her abode.
  • Tirupati: Venkateswara, or Srinivasa or Balaji as the presiding deity Vishnu is known, is enshrined in this temple, located on a range of the Eastern Ghats, called the Seven Hills in Chittoor dst.
  • Vemulawada: Near Karimnagar is home to an ancient temple dedicated to Shiva – Rajarajeswara.
  • Vijayawada: Home to 3distinctive temples- Kanakadurga temple, Malleswara temple, Vijayeswara temple. ear Vijayawada is the hill temple complex of Mangalagiri dedicated to Narasimha.
  • Yadagirigutta: Narasimha swami

Entry Filed under: Religious stories

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. jhani  |  December 14, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Hi, Nice blog… i feel there is no more details for yadagirigutta…. for the convinient of the readers… check the details for yadagirituta at http://yadagirigutta.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed




December 2008
« Nov   Jan »

Most Recent Posts

%d bloggers like this: